Committees & Duties

Columbia River Gorge Commission

A Collaborative Effort

Five Committees

The Gorge Commission recently established five (5) committees to pro-actively engage the Commissioners in helping to address short-term needs and set a long-term vision important to managing the National Scenic Area.  Active committees are important to leverage and complement the work of our staff, improve our decision-making, be a more responsive, transparent and data-driven agency,  enhance our external relationships with partners, and build a foundation for a more robust, relevant and better funded Commission. 

Committee meetings are open to the public. Click here for details on upcoming committee meetings.


Executive committee

Provides advice to Executive Director as requested, meeting on a regular basis if desired by Executive Director. In this mode acts as a sounding board for Executive Director regarding work program, budget development, and fiscal oversignt matters. Advises Commission in development of strategic plan, personnel, and fiscal policies; organizes Commission efforts in these areas, including annual work planning sessions. Responsible for assisting the Commission Chair in regular performance reviews of Executive Director, and for search process and recommendations(s) to the Commission should the Executive Director position become open. Tracks and makes recommendations on overall Commission function; responsible for Commissioner orientation and ongoing education toward enhancced Commission performance. Responsible for identifying the specific criteria needed to build the diverse skills of the commission and communicating those to the people responsible for appointing commissioners.


Members: Bowen BlairLynn BurdittSondra ClarkLorrie DeKayRodger NicholsJanet Wainwright

Assessment committee

Advises Commission on progress toward meeting the goals of the Scenic Act. Works with other parties to facilitate and improve implementation of the Scenic Area Management Plan and Economic Development Program. Participates in the states' processes for updating scenic area economic development plans. Develops recommendations on any other steps the Commission might take to more fully implement the second purpose of the Act. Develops and recommends monitoring work plan and revisions to Commission. Recommends strategies for funding needed for monitoring and as directed by the Commission, implements those strategies. Provides initial review of monitoring results and products. Assists in securing appropriate commissioner involvement in key monitoring meetings or work sessions with Scenic Area partners.


Members: Bowen BlairLynn BurdittKeith ChamberlainDan EricksenRobert LibertyDamon Webster

Tribal Affairs committee

Establishes and executes ongoing Commission contacts with the four Treaty Tribes recognized in the Scenic Act. Advises Commission on issues of importance to the Tribes and any recommended processes or actions for better addressing Tribal concerns. Identifies opportunities for enhancing cultural or natural resources of the Gorge, and acts as a sounding board on cultural and natural resource issues as requested by the Executive Director.


Members: Lynn BurdittAntone MinthornRodger NicholsJanet Wainwright

Outreach committee

Building relationships, and – over time – effective partnerships with a broad range of Columbia Gorge constituencies that are important to advancing both purposes of the Act and current CRGC priorities; and Increasing local and regional interest in the Commission and greater public engagement in Commission deliberations.


Members: Bridget BaileyHon. Don BonkerAntone MinthornRodger NicholsJanet WainwrightDamon Webster